Connect with us

Knives

Eoin May Reviews: Randall #1 Knife

Published

on

 

Yeah, that’s my Randall blade. I accept your envy.

There is a name that is murmured around the knife world. A company so popular and exclusive that it takes five years to get their products in after placing your order. You can only buy one per household every month. They are resold at almost triple the original purchase price. The knife company I am referring to is Randall Knives. The knife I am referring to is the Model 1. The person who got to review one is me, and if you are feeling a wave of resentment and envy right now, that is proof that you are normal and sane.

Founded in 1938, the company’s popularity began during WWII, when a young sailor had one made for him to take into battle for hand-to-hand combat. Naturally, that sailor’s friends wanted one, and their friends wanted one, and that’s all she wrote. The owner, Bo Randall, was hit with more orders than he could take on himself. His knives became almost required for soldiers heading into war on land, on the water, in the air … and the outer ages of the troposphere. These knives have been tested for a long time and have represented the upmost quality. Each knife is hand made and built to perfection. I recently got a hold of one of their most popular the Model 1. This knife was the first Randall designs, and for decades it’s been the last word in what a fighting knife should be. Each of the features was designed to cause the upmost destruction in close quarters combat.

This knife lives up to the name in more ways than one. The blade is sent razor sharp right out of the box. The balance point is right behind the guard (as every good knife should). The handle is black micarta with a silver butt cap. Not only is this knife striking to the eye, but it can withstand almost anything you can throw at it.

Oh yes. Randall blades are known for being the toughest knives on the market. If this knife can be taken over seas and used as a hammer or used to cut anything but the kitchen sink, I know it is good enough for me. Randall has almost 30 different models just on their catalog—and that doesn’t include the Secret Menu.

Each model can be customized with different material for the handle, type of steel, type of guard, and even material for the butt cap. Randall also has options to add things to the knife like a compass for the Bear Grylls of the world.

Now let’s talk about how I felt about the Randall Model 1. You fight gravity to lift it from the box. You know how when you pick up a hammer and it just feels like you couldn’t break it even if you tried? That’s this knife. The handle feels great in the hand and the balance is perfect.

The blade is perfectly ground to be used for any application for example, cutting down limbs or small trees, splitting wood, skinning dead game, or self-defense. This blade style, the bowie, can be used for anything you can think of. Above the guard this model has a spot for your finger, so if you need more leverage you can choke up on the blade. This Model 1 has been proven to be useful in any application or situation you can be in.

Owning the Model 1 has showed me why Randall Knives are so sought after. Just the aura and the feel of a good custom knife can’t be beat. If you don’t have a Randall already, I would ask you to try and get one. Their knives are amazing no matter what model you pick. If you have a Randall, tell me what you think of it. Are they the best custom knives in the world?

If you enjoy my articles and want to see more cool content, follow my Instagram @atoz_reviews and follow my YouTube channel that’s in my bio. Thank you guys.

11 Comments

11 Comments

  1. Philip

    May 16, 2022 at 12:29 pm

    Had mine since 1955, and it has been with me through 28 years military service. Except for scabbard wear and tear the knife could pass for new. Included whetting stone remains in the scabbard pocket though a bit worn as one would expect after 67 years.

  2. Philip

    May 16, 2022 at 12:36 pm

    Here is how it appears today.

  3. Phil

    May 16, 2022 at 1:29 pm

    Wow Philip, what a great testimonial !!
    Coincidentally my name is also Philip and I was born in 1955.
    Did some time with the 82nd Airborne, ‘72 thru ‘79.
    If you would EVER consider parting with that piece of history, look me up! I will ensure it continues a fine legacy….
    Again, thanks for sharing!

  4. Dale Parker

    May 16, 2022 at 2:34 pm

    Look up the song The Randall Knife, by Guy Clark. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KY5MOUO464Q

  5. Jack Barrett

    May 16, 2022 at 8:07 pm

    I live in Orlando, home of Randall knives. We once bought one for a retiring chief of police as a going away gift. The Randall folks were nice enough to get it done for us back when the waiting list was only a year. If you own a Randall, you own a piece of history

  6. Russ

    May 17, 2022 at 9:50 am

    I have 2. They’re incredible. I live in Orlando and took them in for a little refinishing. They have an excellent museum there as well.

  7. durabo

    May 17, 2022 at 10:18 am

    Ny wife gave me a Randall Model 15 for my commissioning at NAS Pensacola, 3 MAR 61. I carried and used it during 7 years of flying. Later, it dressed out several whitetail and mule deer and elk – and it’s still going strong.

    Randall is a brand one can count on for survival.

  8. Vince Oller

    May 17, 2022 at 10:34 am

    I had the distinct pleasure of speaking to Bo Randall once in 1985. A true gentleman. And one of the best knives you could ever own. I’ve had several No. 1’s over the years and will always have one as my go to fighting knife.

  9. Polidoc

    May 17, 2022 at 12:35 pm

    I learned of these knives on an underwater archeological expedition. One of the team had a dive knife from Bo. We were all surprised by a ocean going leather sheath and such an expensive knife. After a few weeks we saw the value. I ordered one on my return and have been off the beaten path with it for about a 1/2 century. It has been a life saver several times. The workmanship is excellent and the silver soldering gives both strength and corrosion proof bond. I do regret not buying some of his duty knives he made with the factory German steel blades. Not quite as good as his forged blades but they were a bargain and affordable enough to keep extras in bailout bags.

    • Chuck & Barbara Hotze

      June 8, 2022 at 1:05 pm

      My wife got me the Solingen blade Model 18 hollow handle Attack/Survival in 1968 for my military service. Crutch Tip on end of handle since tgreading internally for later screw on butt cap with compas waa not yet available. 9 different Randall Made variants have become mine, but her $60.00 Solingen version will always be my favorite. P.S. Slightly Different Sawtooth configuration. And rivited vintage sheath with early stone, too. It still “feels” right with the cird wrapped handle for extra purchase when wet. Love this first Randall even more than 2nd favotites/ ASTRO & SMITHSONIAN BOWIE.

  10. Chuck & Barbara Hotze

    June 8, 2022 at 1:06 pm

    My wife got me the Solingen blade Model 18 hollow handle Attack/Survival in 1968 for my military service. Crutch Tip on end of handle since tgreading internally for later screw on butt cap with compas waa not yet available. 9 different Randall Made variants have become mine, but her $60.00 Solingen version will always be my favorite. P.S. Slightly Different Sawtooth configuration. And rivited vintage sheath with early stone, too. It still “feels” right with the cird wrapped handle for extra purchase when wet. Love this first Randall even more than 2nd favotites/ ASTRO & SMITHSONIAN BOWIE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Trending

Copyright © 2021 Brand Avalanche Media, LLC. Popular EDC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Brand Avalanche Media, LLC. This copyrighted material may not be republished without express permission. The information presented here is for general educational purposes only. MATERIAL CONNECTION DISCLOSURE: You should assume that this website has an affiliate relationship and/or another material connection to the persons or businesses mentioned in or linked to from this page and may receive commissions from purchases you make on subsequent web sites. You should not rely solely on information contained in this email to evaluate the product or service being endorsed. Always exercise due diligence before purchasing any product or service. This website contains advertisements.